Workplace Design

A few weeks ago, I wrote a blog post about the importance of workplace design for employee satisfaction.  I was very interested in this topic initially so I decided to search wordpress for “workplace design” to see if I could find more information on it.  This search led me to Fine Arts Feedbag, a blog which offers articles on contemporary design.  This post in particular was about workplace design and a 2008 Gensler study of US Workplaces.  I then followed this post to the study.  I found that 36% of office workspace is utilized incorrectly and has no worth to the office. Employers should work towards spaces geared towards focus, collaboration, learning, and socializing when designing an office space.  Top companies have workplaces that are 80% effective while average companies only use their spaces 64% correctly.  I wondered how this factored in to the thousands of employees that now work from home as companies cut costs.

One Response

  1. I also added a copy of the study to my original post.

Leave a Reply

