The Silent Rejection

Bookmark and Share

One of the things that keeps coming up in conversations with my friends this year has been the silent rejection. It is one of the most frustrating things because you put time and energy into tailoring a cover letter, resume, and application to each specific job; only to never hear from them again. Why is it so hard to send a letter or email telling applicants that they did not receive the job?

This is not just a problem for students at our school who are applying for summer internships, it has become in issue everywhere (even at HARVARD)!  I know that with the given economic crisis companies are dealing with much smaller budgets, and therefore departments like HR have had to make cuts, but is it to hard to send out a mass email?  As desperate as people are to get jobs, we also are trying to make plans for the summer and it is hard to just sit in limbo for weeks, hoping each day that that one email will come back.  Heck, at this point I don’t even care if it is an offer or a rejection, I just want to hear from them.

I also understand that no one wants to be the person to give bad news because yes, there are people who emotionally can no longer handle the rejection (like this woman from the UK).  However, as this other article notes, most applicants are like me and consider no answer worse than a no.  My final thought to leave all of you who find yourselves in the same position as me is keep holding on cuz you know we’ll make it through, we’ll make it through!

4 Responses

  1. No one is polite anymore.

  2. I know it seems that manners have been lost in the workplace.

  3. Ugh, I feel your pain. I don’t know if it’s worse when you follow up with them and THEN they say no thanks!

  4. I know that after talking to my dad he mentioned that some potential employers (especially in regards to internships) will not respond if they are still trying to figure things out, like if they have enough money to pay you for the summer. However, it is a frustrating process that just leaves many of us in limbo.

Leave a Reply

